Thread: System locking up

Beans

System locking up

I just received my Bonobo Pro Laptop about 2 weeks ago. I've noticed now about 3x that my laptop has locked up after the display went blank. When I typed in my password and got back to the desktop I could not click on any icon in the menu at all. I am new to Ubuntu so pardon my ignorance.

I noticed on the Ubuntu forums that this appears to be a known issue for different reasons. Any suggestions from the System 76 users would be appreciated.

I am running on 11.04.

Thanks.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: System locking up

I've tried pretty hard here, but I can't seem to replicate this issue on any of our systems here in the shop. Can you post the configuration of your laptop so that I can get the closest test possible?
    Ian Santopietro - System76 Technical Support.
    Open a Support Ticket!
    Ask a Sales Question!

Beans

Thanks for the reply. I think, though testing it right now, that the problem may be with my USB wireless Logitech mouse. It's model 305. I have a wired USB mouse now attached and it seems to be working. The lockup would happen after about 5-7 minutes.

I appreciate the reply.

I am assuming this info is what you're looking for regarding the config from the System Monitor:

Bonobo Professional
    Ubuntu 11.04 (natty)
    Kernel Linux 2.6.38-10-generic
    GNOME 2.32.1

Hardware:

Memory: 15.7GiB
    Processor: 0-7 Intel (R) Core(TM) i7-2720QM CPU @ 2.20GHz

Available Disk Space: 635.2 GiB

Hope this is the right info. BTW, I love my system just locking up occasionally. Any help/direction would be appreciated. Thanks again.

Beans

Well I just locked up again and had to reboot again. I have no idea what's going on. Apparently it's not the mouse. I will get some info on what I was reading about 11.04 and the issues they are having and pass it on and perhaps that might be issue(?). I'm just not sure. Thanks for any help.

Beans